Saturday, December 19, 2009

I Only Speak the Truth

so...

as I made my 12 hour trek back to Nashville from Waco (which I proudly made in 11 hours) I was having a discussion with the girl traveling with me about the differences between most men and southern gentlemen...as well as things that are considered "common courtesy"

Sparking my interest at the name of my new blog, I decided maybe I should develop a list of common courtesies...rules to live, love, and enjoy life by. 

SO! (drumroll please)

may I now introduce you to common courtesy rule #1:

Don't lie.


I know, I know. It's two words and doesn't seem like anything important. But seriously, honesty is the best policy. Lies get you absolutely no where in life. I know people are always fans of the little white lies especially regarding another person's clothing. But there is simply no reason to stretch the truth.
Example:
"What do you think of my shoes?"
Bad answer:
"I love them!" or "They're so cute!" if the shoes are God-awful. 
Good answer: 
"They're so you!" or "You can definitely pull it off" or even "Wow, so spontaneous! I saw those exact shoes in the mall the other day!" (only if you really did) 

This is ESPECIALLY true when it comes to dating.
If you have no interest whatsoever in dating a guy/girl, let them know up front. This way, there is no confusion or mixed signals and it prevents many MANY assumptions from being made. C'mon you know you've been there. Playing the guessing game with a person you barely know...trying to read their "signals" to see if they're perhaps interested.

Guys: Get the asking out done upfront. If you like the girl, ACT like it. 
Girls: If a guy is ACTING like he likes you and you don't like him, ACT like it!

I don't believe in this whole "mysterious" vibe and leaving things up to the imagination. Think of how many heartbreaks can be prevented if we were all just up front and honest!

ALSO!
when in a relationship, do NOT under any circumstances hide the truth to "protect" your significant other's feelings. This is BY FAR the dumbest line I have ever heard. Trust me. Having the truth come out later will only lead to more trust issues between the two of you. And if you're really supposed to be together, it'll only make you stronger.

and if you love someone, tell them. And more importantly, fight for them.

here's a challenge: try for a day, two days, whatever to never let the word "nevermind" come out of your mouth. Say what you want to say. 

That's all for today. 
So for the rest of the weekend and next week, only speak the truth :)

-Court

Friday, December 11, 2009

Panic

every student's worst nightmare: missing an exam.

Sleeping through it, getting the times messed up, regardless of how hard everyone studies or how well the information is crammed into our 15 lb brains, something always finds a way to go wrong. 

9 am was my Latin final. 
830: everyone is there, cramming of course.
905: final begins. I look to my left to realize my latin friend (lets call him LF) is missing.

I raise my hand 
"Mr. LT (latin teacher), has LF already taken his exam?"

"No...he should be here."

I pull out my phone; shoot LF a text "Hey are you coming?"

5 min.

no reply.

"Mr. LT, can I call him?"

"sure go ahead"

ring ring

"hey!"

"Hey, um are you coming to the exam?"

"what?"

"the exam"

"what time is it?"

"it's 915"

"no its not."

"uh yea...it is. we're starting right now."

"you're lying"

"no im not." (and what if i had been?? what kind of sick person would i be then?)

"oh my gosh I just woke up, I'll be there soon."

"Mr. LT, LF is on his way..."

10 min. LF busts through the door...

and you know those people that no matter how hard they try they just can't seem to look bad? LF is one of those people.

Some people, like me for example, wake up looking like death smothered us while we slept and some sort of creature has found himself a place to live in our hair overnight. 

of course. Not LF.
Gag.

And guess who finishes his exam first...




Thursday, December 10, 2009

Inspiration

Julie & Julia is definitely to blame.

As well as finals...

Before I start rambling, I should probably explain. 

I am your average, boring yet mostly subtle female college student who currently is avoiding studying for her finals.
Unfortunately, tonight I was blessed with the DVD Julie&Julia, adding fuel to my procrastination fire. Which then led me to the subject of blogs. And I quote Julie Powell "I could write a blog! I have thoughts!"

Truth.

Perhaps one day this blog will be filled with my adventures of cooking my way through a cookbook. 
But for now, my thoughts are going to consist of life as a college student. Despite how boring this might seem to some, to others college is the most exciting time of life. I'm interested to see if this is really true. 

Here I sit in my apartment in Texas, my sophomore year of college almost halfway completed, major changed three times, sorority joined, friends discovered, as I passionately avoid studying for my sociology exam. Worst feeling ever? Reading a chapter of a textbook for an hour and realizing you have no idea what you've just read. 

Seriously, is suffering through lectures really the most effective way of learning? Supposedly the average person only has an attention span of 30 min. 

I am confident mine is much shorter.

Well, adventures will soon follow. For now I'll let Michael Buble sing me into a studying lull.