Friday, December 31, 2010

should old acquaintances be forgot?

Happy New Years Eve.
2010 went by fast! Holy moley. But there were some absolutely fantastic memories along the way. Maybe if I keep this blog up for the rest of my life (yea right) and write down what happened each year...I'll actually be able to remember. I've started watching re-runs of How I Met Your Mother which I can't help but die laughing at every time I watch. It's narrated by a guy (Ted) who's telling his kids the story of how he met their mother. But let's face it, the shows been going on for about 5 years and he still hasn't revealed which character their mother is! (See?? totally sucks you in) Anyways, he specifically remembers what happened each year, and even can correct himself if he mixes the years up. How he does it is beyond me. YES I KNOW THIS IS JUST A SITCOM! Maybe he had a blog?

Lifegroup
A year ago exactly I was joining in on Wes and Sarah's lifegroup. This meant leaving the freshmen one I was leading with Kaitlyn and Kyle and walking into one I had never been to before that also contained mostly male members. AND the majority of the people were older than me. I was TERRIFIED. I didn't know anyone except Wes and Sarah, how was I going to bond with all these KOTs? And what right did I have to lead people older than me? Lord, what were you doing? Words cannot express my nerves on the night of that first lifegroup.
But He clearly had a plan much greater than my own and knew what He
was doing. This lifegroup has been one of the best things that's ever happened to me. I'm so proud to call it my own. These people have become my family. I have watched them grow and their passion for Jesus soar! God is doing crazy awesome things in them. My lifegroup has a passion for reaching people in Greek life, obedient and servant-like hearts, and are full of hunger to learnmore about the person of Jesus. It is so challenging to live life with them! (and in the best way!) Around April, we picked up another co-leader, Allen and it is SUCH a joy to lead with him. What a humble man of God! 2011 is going to be another huge year for our lifegroup.


Weddings (And engagements!)
It's been forever since I had been to a wedding but this year, I attended two. I know that doesn't seem like a lot, especially in comparison to what 2011, 2012, 2013...etc. will be like. But what I realized is how much FUN weddings are!
I'm so excited for the next few years of everyone around me getting married! It's like a giant party for all your closest friends! Dustin and Babs' wedding was one of my favorite parts of 2010. I loved getting a chance to see them go from just friends to dating to engagement to MARRIAGE! It was one of the sweetest things I've ever se
en to watch the exchange vows. I'm beyond excited for them still!

Getting to take pictures and film Kelsi and Jake's engagement was amazing. It was so sweet to get to witness the proposal!

My 20th Birthday
two words: Elite Eight. My mom had come up for the weekend to surprise me! After Olive Garden with my best friends and seeing How To Train Your Dragon, we all decided to impulsively buy tickets to the Elite Eight game in Houston to see the bears play. Best. Decision. Ever.


The Girl House
yes, we still have not come up with anything more creative than that. In August I moved into a house with 6 of my closest friends. Another best decision ever. I was nervous that living as a group of 7 would be extremely difficult and not fun at all. It has been the complete opposite. I love every second of living in that house! It is so much fun and has worked out so much better than I would've ever imagined!











My Baptism!
wow, I can't believe I left this one off of this!


Those are probably my favorite things from this past year. There have been so many others but I simply cannot fill up a blog short enough for them :)

Bring on 2011!

Friday, November 19, 2010

What Do I Know Of Holy?

Very little.
I'm seriously and very much human.

I'm currently listening to that song. "What Do I Know of Holy?" by Addison Road

I guess here's a list of the things that I do know of Holy, of my Jesus, of my Saving Grace.

_He saved me from the PIT of Hell.
_He loves me unconditionally
_He loves me better than any person on earth ever will
_He will never forget me
_He will never forsake me
_He will never overlook me
_He fights for me DAILY
_He calls me princess
_He calls me beautiful, adored, treasured and valued
_He leads me down paths of life
_He LOVES to hear me laugh and see me smile
_He cries when I cry
_I can't earn His love. It's already given. And there's an infinite supply of it.
_He wants to use me for His glory
_He wants to give me gifts!
_There's nothing about me that He doesn't know.
_If He created the UNIVERSE and all of it's intricate details, how much more exciting can He make the plans of my life if I hand them over to Him?

Monday, November 1, 2010

My Turn

I've been reading a certain blog lately that has given me insight into the male mind.

I've decided to return the favor.
Which brings the title of this entry (or the subject at least) to...

THINGS I WISH GUYS KNEW: (feel free to add to this list)

1. We REALLLLLY wish you were confident, but not cocky. And believe me, there is a difference. Be confident in who you are. If you like yourself and are confident in the man that God created you to be, there's a high chance we'll like you as well. Being cocky on the other hand is just plain annoying. No one wants to hear about how many girls you've been flirting with or even the snide comment of "Oh yea, she's totally into me." The second that sentence leaves a guy's mouth, he's lost me.

2. It doesn't matter how many promises you make if your actions don't back it up. (see my "lying" entry). For real. At least be a man of your word.

3. Don't ever talk about another girl's body around us. It doesn't matter if you're saying she's hot, fat, ugly, whatever. Just don't do it.

4. It is always better for you to make the first move. I really don't feel like an explanation is needed here. But for goodness sakes, don't make her wait till she's blue in the face.

5. Don't draw out our hearts. If you seriously have no intention of dating us, getting to know us better, whatever, please hold the flirtation. Oh and the texts asking if we want to study with you. Oh and those really long facebook chats. Those too. Because as much as you deny that you're oblivious to knowing if girls like you, you CAN tell if we're into you. So don't keep it going just to feed your ego.

6. Very few of us will ever understand your obsession with video games or your emotional attachment to sports' teams. But if you like it, and we like you, I guarantee you we'll try to like it as well.

7. We WILL overanalyze things, whether we admit it or not. The bottom line is, we just think about things a lot more than you do. Sometimes it's a good thing. And sometimes it's really not.

That's all I got so far.

Girls, anything you want guys to consider?
Guys, thoughts? complaints?

-court


Monday, September 6, 2010

Half full?

So I'm a junior.

In less than 2 years I'll have a real life job (maybe), or at least know what I'm doing with my life (hopefully).

weird.

I am currently living in a house with 6 other girls, which I'll admit I was pretty nervous about. I'm completely loving it though. The year has gotten off to a pretty good start, but I'm more anxious than anything.

It's amazing what a complete unknown my life is in right now. When you allow God to be completely in control of every single path in your life and let Him guide it as well as trust Him to do so, the excitement and expectancy you are able to live you life in is crazy. I think that's what I'm feeling right now. But maybe I should be more proactive. I feel like I'm waiting on a breakthrough, I'm waiting for God to reveal whatever it is I'm supposed to do next. And I'm excited but in case you know me, patience is not one of my strong suits. Like I told my roommate the other day, you can't expect God to just give you *said personality trait aka patience* unless he puts you in a situation to develop *said personality trait*.

I've loved getting to spend so much time with these women who I live with and getting to watch them grow. Not only am I totally opposite from who I was freshman year, but they are as well. They're even different than they were a year ago.

A year can change a lot. Six months can change a lot. Even a week can change a lot.

I'm growing.
I'm moving forward from this summer.

When I came to Baylor this year I was wallowing in how terrible my summer was and having no where to go but up. I didn't want to be a Debby Downer but I needed to vent. I was just waiting patiently for someone to just say "hey, tell me what's going on with you." But no one did.

That's when God showed up. Because He was the one who said it. After laying face down on the ground in my room and venting to Jesus about EVERYTHING in my life, I haven't turned back to wallow in those things again. He took it all, just like that. No human can do that. No one is capable. He literally took it all and hasn't put it on me again, because He DELIGHTS in relieving me of my pain. And that is INCREDIBLE. Because I have yet to meet a parent, friend, boy, teacher, etc. who not only CAN take away all my pain but ENJOYS every single bit of it.

The Lord is my portion and He gives me joy so extravagant that I will not much remember the days of my life. (Ecc. 5:20) PRAISE THE LORD

Saturday, July 3, 2010

homesick

i miss waco.

I know, I never thought the day would come where I would actually say it out loud. But I miss waco. Not necessarily Texas...just waco.

being home isn't easy for me. It's not hard...it's just definitely not easy. the person I am now, the person i am in waco is someone so completely opposite of the person people knew me as here in brentwood. the high school me was lukewarm, passive, unsure of herself, insecure, needy, self-centered, and made fun of...a lot.

college was a fresh start. i had no image to live up to. people didn't know who i was in high school and i was free to be who i wanted with no former image or strings attached. and that's exactly what i did. I'm not saying im not any of those things listed above anymore. because I surely am. My flesh is not completely conquered but i've learned what it's like to walk in the spirit and to LIVE OUT being a Christian, a little Jesus. This means we have to be LIKE Jesus. Not just kinda like Him. But really try and strive to be like Him.

I feel as if most people have accepted that they will never be perfect and automatically give up on ever trying to be like the one perfect person to ever walk this planet. No one fully understands what it means to be like Jesus! or no one really wants to acknowledge what it means. That it means losing EVERYTHING. It means laying down your life DAILY. it means being uncomfortable and risking everything and not caring what others think about you. It means being willing to risk your life at any second for anyone. Putting others needs before your own, even people who you don't think deserve it. It's not cussing, watching porn, getting drunk, going too far with your boyfriend, talking about people, putting others down, back-talking your parents, or in any ways being friends with the world because THOSE AREN'T THINGS JESUS DID!!! And please don't say "it's okay, Jesus drank wine." okay totally different. do your research about the time period. it's not about seeing how much you can get away with. It's about trying to be as pure as He was. Not how much you can do before God takes back your salvation. But how much you can live in the kingdom.

And God did NOT call you to be lukewarm or passive. He DID call you to preach the gospel daily! He DID call you to be his BOLD disciple and to walk out in the SPIRIT daily. He called YOU to make disciples of all nations. Not the preacher, or the girl in your spanish class. but YOU.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Tagz

Let's just get straight to the point.

Common Courtesy #3:
Don't DETAG yourself in pictures.

like what the heck? really?
what's the point exactly?

Now I totally understand there are exceptions to this rule: sorority rules, being a member of something sometimes requires you to not have certain pictures of yourself on facebook. But let's be real, if you know you're just going to have to detag it why put yourself in the picture in the first place?

and can you please explain to me why there is a random detagging of the most random pictures lately? you look fine. this is how you look in real life. why in the world do you want to detag yourself?

my whole deal is when people detag because they think it's an ugly picture of themselves. Hellloooo, be honest with the world and admit to them (and yourself) that you don't always look perfect. and more importantly, don't HAVE to look perfect at all times.

heck, i'm not so sure I want to be friends with someone who looks perfect in every single facebook picture they have. at least let me know you're a real person. I mean c'mon.

that's my rant.

don't detag.

and if you have to, maybe you should start to reconsider getting in that picture with your red plastic cup.

just sayin.

court

Saturday, April 17, 2010

the great outdoors


Sorry it's taken me so long. School = insane.

Hopefully this summer, blogging will be better! More time on my hands/needing places to express my crazy adventures in Nashville.

Anywho!

Common Courtesy #2:
Let boys be boys.

For real. I'm so tired of girls trying to be men. Yes, we're tough. Yes we can do things on our own. But if a guy is offering to help you with something, by all means, let him!

Now I'm all for women's rights. Voting, voicing our opinion, etc. I'm all for it. But I would not like to be treated like a man. Opening car doors, paying for dinner, walking on the side of the sidewalk closest to traffic, I will always and gladly accept these things. And I think every woman should respect and accept these things as well.

I got the idea from This weekend. I went on the most intense camping/backpacking trip of my life for my backpacking and camping class (yes it is an actual class at Baylor.) There were some awesome men of God on the trip who were so servant-hearted it was incredible. But I have to explain the trip. Now, I never got a chance to weigh my backpack, but I know it was up there in the 60-70 lb range simply because when sitting on the ground, I could barely pick it up and sling it on my back. And I can hold my own when it comes to lifting heavy items. But for real. This was RIDICULOUS.

So this backpack is extreme...


For real. extreme. See that tent I'm holding? Yea...that hooks on the bottom. Plus a gallon of water inside. Plus a sleeping bag. Plus clothes. Guess who's back is sore today?

Now I'm an outdoorsy girl. I camp often, love to go to the lake, do water sports, etc. Backpacking is not my thing.

We drove an hour and a half away, strapped our packs on, then made our way across the river to the MOUNTAIN. yea...didn't know we'd be climbing a mountain, with 70 lbs on my back.

The trek was, needless to say, exhausting. The whole time I'd been looking forward to getting to know people in my class, talking and hiking, and it being a jolly good time. When I saw the mountain, I probably should've quit the whole talking idea and saved my oxygen. Mistake #1. I looked absolutely disgusting by the time we got to the top and I didn't have a mirror. I just could feel it.

After a sleepless night consisting of pouring rain and going back and forth from being hot to cold, we trek to the other campsite where our teacher was (all campsites were about .25 miles away from each other. Who does that?) Meanwhile, the rain begins. And packing up a wet tent adds a few more pounds to the mix. My crew, thank the Lord, is anxious to get back down the mountain. Our teacher, however, has other plans. We have to take the LONG way back...about 2.5 miles. And I know that doesn't sound like a lot. But put 70 lbs on your back and make half of it uphill. Oh and then add pouring rain. Kill me.

but I'm alive! We made it back in 2 hours and no one was injured....well aside from me falling 4 times (I'm not kidding. I fall all the time, even around campus. And falling with a backpack is even worse since it just weighs you down.)

haha if that wasn't motivation to not gain 70 lbs I don't know what else would be.

Next time I'll try to not be a Debbie Downer
-Court